Anyway, even if I wasn’t able to finish the film, let me just say that it was great. No wonder all Tumblr people loved it. I feel such a loser for watching it too late. Um wait no, nothing is too late, right? 🙂

So yeah. I just feel sad for Tom Hanson. He’s, well, such an ideal guy. He may not have the hottest physical attributes, but he’s attractive and charming and he’s very loving. He loved Summer Finn so much that they could’ve just married and be happiest couple on the face of the planet.

Oh, Summer. You are very beautiful. Such a head turner. But to refuse a guy like Tom Hanson? Really? I’d trade lives with you if only you were real and if only that’s possible.

If I were Summer, I would have given Tom the kind of love that he deserved all along. Strong, real and most of all, pure.

6 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve watched this film over a hundred times… i somewhat, somehow can relate myself to tom’s situation back when i was in high school and college days….

    =Summer doesn’t believe in love…

    (McKenzie: So do you have a boyfriend?
    Summer: No.
    McKenzie: Why not?
    Summer: Because I don’t want one.
    McKenzie: Come on…I don’t believe that.
    Summer: You don’t believe that a woman could enjoy being free and independent?
    McKenzie: Are you a lesbian?
    Summer: No I’m not a lesbian. I just, don’t feel comfortable being anyone’s girlfriend. I don’t actually feel comfortable being anyone’s anything.
    McKenzie: I don’t know what you’re talking about.
    Summer: Really?
    McKenzie: Nope.
    Summer: Ok, let me break it down for you–
    McKenzie: Break it down!
    Summer: Ok. I, like being on my own. I think relationships are messy and people’s feelings get hurt. Who needs it? We’re young, we live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world; might as well have fun while we can and, save the serious stuff for later.
    McKenzie: You’re a dude. She’s a dude!
    Tom: Ok but wait–wait. What happens, if you fall in love?
    Tom: What?
    Summer: You don’t believe that, do you?
    Tom: It’s love, it’s not Santa Claus.)

    =But in the end………. she did believe it…..

    Tom: you never wanted to be anybody’s girlfriend, and now you’re somebody’s wife…
    Summer: surprised me too.
    Tom: I don’t think i’ll never understand that. I mean, it doesn’t make sense.
    Summer: It just happened.
    Tom: Right , but that’s what I don’t understand. What just happened?
    Summer: I just woke up one day and i knew.
    Tom: Knew what?
    Summer: What i was never sure of with you….
    Tom: You know what sucks? Realizing that everything you believe in is complete and utter bullshit. It sucks.
    Summer: What do you mean?
    Tom: Uh, you know, destiny, and soul mates, and true love, and all that childhood fairy tale nonsense. You were right. I should have listened to you.
    Summer: No. (smiling)
    Tom: Yeah. what? What are you smiling at?
    Summer: Tom….
    Tom: What are you looking at me like that for?
    Summer: Well you know, i guess it’s because i was sitting in a deli and reading Dorian Gray and a guy comes up to me and asked me about it, and now he’s my husband….
    Tom: Yeah. And… So?
    Summer: So what if i’d gone to the movies? What if i had gone somewhere else for lunch?
    what if i’d gotten there 10 minutes later? it was…. it was meant to be. And i just kept thinking, Tom was right….
    Tom: No…
    Summer: Yeah, I did…. i did……. it just wasn’t me that you were right about…..

    =Love is not something you can just give to someone or somebody…
    Even though you’re attractive, charming and very loving….Strong, real and pure but still the one you love doesn’t feel the same(love), its all worthless… there are things in this life that we just cant insist,,,,, I can’t blame Summer for what she did…. She doesn’t really love Tom… and that’s it… I could even fall for a girl who is not my ideal type… you’ll just know it when you feel it…

    –walang magawa… pasenxa… haha

    “people don’t realize this, but loneliness is underrated…”

      • Buti na lang may subtitle… Ang dali tuloy itype… Haha… The only part that i dont really understand is when they were watching a movie about a girl wearing a wedding dress and a guy… Summer cried alot and i cant find the reason why… Then he told tom that she’s stupid… Hmmmm…. ??????

        • Subtitle? San mo ba napanuod?
          Ah, the movie.. The guy there was Dustin Hoffman, I think.
          Yung “Hmmm…????” mo ba means you’re asking what I think of it?

      • Sa comp, sa ipod, sa tv… May kopya kc ako nun.. Ngdownload ako, torrent… Aun.. Oo anu sa tingn mo ung nangyari sa part n un….

        • Okayy. Remember at the beginning when Tom & Summer were being introduced? Sabi, Tom once believed he’ll never be happy in his life because of his early exposure to Brit pop music & the misreading of the movie The Graduate.
          Now the movie they saw was The Graduate.
          “The Graduate” as a love story where the guy sweeps the girl of his dreams off of her feet and then they drive off on a bus and live happily ever after…If you pay attention to the end of The Graduate, you see Benjamin and Elaine looking off into space, into nothing. They have made such a mess of their lives for love. They have no plan and they are so unsure of their future. Summer interprets the movie (and love) as just that, uncertainty and loss of hope.
          Okay na? 🙂

Leave a Reply

