Day 5: Your favourite memory

Shoes!

Don’t be confused. I missed yesterday so I posted Day 4 today. 🙂

So, what is my favourite memory? Growing up with almost no parents, I recall only faint, countable memories. These faint, countable memories include those little moments I spent with my Dad. He died when I was just 6 years old. 3 months before I turn 7, and a month before his birthday. Even with just a short time, I can tell you that I was, and still, a daddy’s girl. I loved every little thing about my Dad. He’d do anything for me and our family and that’s a fact, I tell you. I recall my sister saying that Dad fought hard just to hold on, just not to lose life. He wanted to continue providing with us, I guess; he wanted to watch us grow up and continue to guide us as we do.

But I guess not everything we want can be given to us. Maybe sometimes, we have already accomplished our life’s mission without knowing it. And all we have to do, us who have been left, is to hold on to those memories, good or not, and continue contemplating. See what good they brought our lives and what good can we get from it in the present tense.

One of the childhood memories I remember, with Dad in it, is the time he brought us out. Pay day, I think it was. In the department store, as we roamed around, I saw this pretty, little Barbie shoes. It’s pink (of course) and made of semi-hard plastic. I fell in love with the shoes at once so I asked him if he could buy me a pair. He said yes so we looked for my size. And it took us forever to find one! But fortunately, we did. 🙂 So yeah, he brought me those shoes and… Guess what happened. Lol.

Anyway, the shoes in the picture aren’t the actual shoes we brought. Mine was somehow transparent, but still pink, with glitters, and Barbie’s face on it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 5: Your favourite memory

  1. I’m sorry for your loss at such a young age, I can’t imagine how awful that must have been. You are very strong. He sounds like a great dad. This was a very wise and powerful thought as well “But I guess not everything we want can be given to us. Maybe sometimes, we have already accomplished our life’s mission without knowing it. And all we have to do, us who have been left, is to hold on to those memories, good or not, and continue contemplating. See what good they brought our lives and what good can we get from it in the present tense.”, you bring up some very good points to think about with death and loss.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words.
      Well it was very hard but I had to be strong. I still have a little brother and I have to be big enough for him. I needed to be his big sister, if you know what I mean.
      And I guess that is just life. We might think we have figured it out, but keeps on surprising us one way or another.
      Have a good day, Brittany! 🙂

Leave a Reply

