Captain America: The First Avenger

Captain America: The First Avenger panel from ...

Image via Wikipedia

If I am to rate Captain America: The First Avenger in a scale of 1-10, with 10 as the highest, I’d give it a 6. The movie was good but not enough to make me scream (though I squealed once.) The animation was quite poor in most parts of the movie, especially that scene in the mountains where they were going after Red Skull‘s accomplice.

Chris Evans, in my opinion, played the role of Steve Rogers/Captain America a little bit more better than good. He’s quite encouraging and touching as a superhero. I haven’t seen previous Captain America movies that’s why I can’t do any comparisons yet. I am not also very well familiar with all these comic book heroes that is why I have this question in my mind: what if Captain America and The Human Torch (Fantastic 4) must be in the same movie, how is Marvel going to do that since the same actor did both roles?

I think it is much better to be simply classified as a popcorn movie, though it is much better than most of its kind. It’s not artsy; doesn’t have any profound meaning, but not preposterous. The movie though is character driven since the cast really helped this movie to become something different than other superhero movies which just showcased bunches of stunts.

As David Edwards of the Daily Mirror would put it:

It’s not as cool as Iron Man, doesn’t have the brains of The Dark Knight or the looks of Thor, but it’s got enough Ka-pow! to make you relish the inevitable sequel. Job done.

Leave a Reply

