Don’t sit on that toilet seat!

So the other day, we had a super late night getaway. My sister Jacque, her husband Aenel and our cousin Mhia haven’t eaten dinner yet that night so they planned to eat out; I just tagged along. 😀

We ate at World Class Persian Kabab at Tomas Morato, Quezon City and then headed to Starbucks afterwards.  We ordered our drinks and all, sat on the couch (there was even this one douche who tried to share the table with me, because I was the only one there while my folks were in line, telling his friends “it’s okay to sit there”) and read magazines, almost not talking to each other. Then my sister and I went to the restroom together, since it’s spacious and we’re sisters.
So here’s how it went: we were in just one room, since all Starbucks’ coffee shop that I know only has one restroom. She said I can go on and do my thing first. So I did. Then she started scolding me.

See, whenever I use public lavatories, I always, always wipe the whole seat with tissue first, even if it’s dry and especially if it’s wet. You could be asking “Wet?! Why would the toilet seat be left wet?!” I seriously do not want to elaborate on this matter, so if I may be so bold, I would like to let my fellow blogger, Tony of www.RageLaugh.com and www.thumbworthy.com, do so with this (Disgusting Creatures) article he wrote. Anyway, I sat on the toilet seat. Yes I did. Well basically because I’m a girl and I need to sit on the toilet to be able to do number one, and number two. But when it comes to the issues of public lavatories, I rarely do that. But that time, I did because it was freaking cold inside the coffee shop that I was already shaking. And if I do the squat while shaking, my pee will shower the whole floor.

So why did my sister scold me while I was doing number one? It’s because I sat on the toilet! She actually self-diagnosed herself with mild obsessive compulsive disorder so she’s always have to be squeaky clean. She was asking me why did I seat on the toilet seat, I was like “I wiped it.” Her monologue went like this:

“You should not sit on that thing because that is used by everybody who goes into this café! Why didn’t you just squat? I don’t think it’s hard for you to do. Do you know that you can catch diseases by just sitting on public toilet seats? You can have AIDS, syphilis, tuberculosis (and some more bacteria names that I don’t remember and decipher) just because of that, since it’s already considered as skin contact!”

Since I did not want to ever argue with her that night (or should I say…morning? It was 2am!!) I just let it go, nodding to every thing she said, even assuring her it won’t happen again.

I know, I know, there’s nothing interesting with what I have written yet, except the link I shared to all of you. But there is something I want to share to you because of what happened. I pored over Google and searched diseases that can be spread through skin contact. I read different articles on different websites and these diseases are very terrible, making me want to share it to all of you even more. Well okay, I lied. I did not totally read them, I just skimmed over the paragraphs since I was busy talking to my friend. Hee hee. 😀
So here are some of them:

Conjunctivitis

  • Conjunctivitis (pink eye) is a highly contagious infection of the eye. It can stem from allergies, bacteria, chemical exposure, chlamydia, fungi, parasites and contact lenses. Symptoms of pink eye include inflammation of the membrane lining the eyelid, blurred vision, crusty eyelid, eye pain, a gritty feeling in the eye, tearing, itchiness, redness and sensitivity to light. Because of its high level of contagiousness, doctors usually recommend that you stay at home until your symptoms subside.

Herpes Labialis

  • Herpes labialis is caused by the Herpes simplex virus. This virus creates small, painful blisters on the lips, mouth or gums. These blisters are commonly referred to as cold sores or fever blisters. Cold-sore warning signs include itching, tingling, burning and sensitivity occurring about two days before the sore appears. Symptoms include skin lesions, a rash around the infected area, blisters that break and ooze, smaller blisters that may come together to form a bigger blister and mild fever. Herpes lesions are recurring, coming back from time to time, triggered by stress, fever, menstruation and, sometimes, unknown causes. If you have Herpes labialis, you are considered to be contagious until your symptoms go away.

Ringworm

  • Ringworm is a fungal infection that affects the scalp, skin, nails or feet. This infection causes pimples to form on the infected areas. These pimples gradually become larger and scale over. Symptoms of ringworm include alopecia areata (patchy hair loss, if the infection is on the scalp) and flat red ring-shaped areas on the skin. Ringworm is spread through touching the skin of an infected person or through touching infected objects such as barber’s clippers, infected hair or shower stalls.

Human Papillomavirus (HPV)

  • Human papillomavirus is a group of over 100 viruses that are very easily transmitted by skin contact. Contact with the virus mainly happens through sexual intercourse or oral sex. Although you don’t actually have to have intercourse to become infected, according to HPVinfo.ca, HPV is considered to be a sexually transmitted infection. Even so, condoms do not offer full protection against the virus since it lives on the skin’s surface. Therefore, skin not covered by the condom can still permit transmission.

Impetigo

  • Impetigo occurs when skin that usually acts as a protective barrier is somehow broken or torn, allowing the bacteria to enter and grow in the body. This commonly happens with bites (human, insect or animal) and skin injuries, and in some rare cases impetigo may occur with no skin trauma visible at all. Symptoms of impetigo are lesions on the face, lips, arms or legs, swollen lymph nodes near the infected area, itchy pus-filled blisters and a rash which begins as a spot but may spread after scratching.

“Okay, so now that you shared your own restroom story with us, as well as your skin-contact diseases research, what now?!”

I just read your mind. HA! 😀

Well my point is this: don’t sit on that toilet seat. Except when you’re shaking and you might spill your pee all over the floor. And always be bacteria-free. Never forget to bring travel tissue or wet wipes when you go to the mall. And of course, never ever forget to bring rubbing alcohol with you guys. There are small dispenser bottles you can buy from drug stores or travel knick-knackeries that you can fill with rubbing alcohol to bring with you wherever you go, if you cannot find the pocket-sized rubbing alcohol bottles.

Yes most of us likes traveling light, bringing only small purses or even nothing when we go out, but in these times of mediocrity, it’s better to be safe than sorry. Who knows? Tomorrow you might catch a flu (that might lead to something scarier) just because you shook a friend’s unclean and sick hand.

PS: Skin-Contact Diseases article from http://www.ehow.com/about_5436206_skincontact-diseases.html

5 thoughts on “Don’t sit on that toilet seat!

    • Thanks Yasmine! 😀
      I’ve never been to any other countries aside from mine. But if you’re going to visit the Philippines, I believe you’re going to need a lot of that, not unless you’ll be visiting posh places that definitely have squeaky clean restrooms 🙂 And yes, the squat is a great workout indeed! 😀

  1. Haha nice post, usually there are disposable seat covers that you can put on toilets or can put down toilet paper or something, because yeah sometimes the seat is wet and not something you want to sit directly on. 🙂

    • Oh yeah, I’ve seen those in some stores. There’s even this kind of toilet seat spray, you spray it on the toilet seat then wipe it off with toilet paper then you’re good to go. (but I doubt my sister would ever let me use that. Bet she doesn’t trust that heehee)
      But back to those disposable seat covers..I think they’re a great idea. Except when you really need to go right away because that might become a bit of a hassle. haha!
      Anyway, thanks Brittany! 😀

  2. Pingback: How is it some people never are sick? | Feeling-Healthy.net Blog

Leave a Reply

